Lorna Jack Announced as New Chair of Scottish Legal Awards

Scotland’s leading awards programme which recognises and celebrates excellence in the Scottish legal sector has announced that Lorna Jack, former CEO of the Law Society of Scotland, will join the programme this year as Chair of the Judging Panel.

The Scottish Legal Awards, now in its 19th year recognising and rewarding the Scottish law sector, welcomes Ms Jack and takes the reigns from Shonaig Macpherson who has chaired the panel since 2015 and remains on board as a judge.

Ms Jack joins the Scottish Legal Awards after retiring from the Law Society in December. Her 13 years at the helm transformed the organisation with major improvements achieved in transparency, governance, engagement and business management. She is currently Chair of Highlands and Islands Airports and Vice Chair of the Scottish Funding Council.

She commented;

“I am honoured to join the Scottish Legal Awards as Chair and continue the excellent work of Shonaig and the other judges to preserve and promote this credible and highly regarded competition which covers the breadth of Scottish Law.
“Scotland’s legal profession has much to be proud of and it is so important that we take some time to highlight the extraordinary, celebrate major achievements and promote the good work done in the everyday job, particularly for community and the progression of the careers of our young people.”
Shonaig Macpherson, commented:

“Lorna has been an immensely positive force in the Law Society of Scotland and I am delighted she has accepted our invitation to Chair the Scottish Legal Awards. On behalf of the rest of the Judging Panel, we are delighted to welcome her onboard.”

The news comes as the Scottish Legal Awards launches it annual programme with an enlarged judging programme and a refreshing line up of awards categories. The 15 strong panel includes three new members who are Fiona McAllister, Lawyer for Channel 4; Martin Nolan, General Counsel and Company Secretary for Skyscanner and Sam Moore of Reynen Court.

The Scottish Legal Awards is now open for entry and the deadline for entries is Wednesday 20 April.

The 2022 Judging Panel

Greig Cameron, Business Editor, The Times Scotland.
William Cameron, National Enforcement Director, Scott + Co.
Sarah Hendry, Senior Lecturer, University of Dundee
Janet Hood, Janet Hood Training and Consulting
Lorna Jack, Chair of the Judging Panel
David Lee, Director David Lee Media and Events
Shonaig Macpherson, Non Executive Director
Fiona McAllister, Lawyer, Channel 4
Christine McLintock, Former President, The Law Society of Scotland
Graeme Mcwilliams, Former Legal Counsel Standard Life
Sam Moore, Director of Vendor Relationships at Reynen Court
Paul Mosson, Head of Member Services, Law Society of Scotland
Martin Nolan, General Counsel and Company Secretary, Skyscanner
Philip Rodney, Founder, Rimalower Consulting
Frasia Wright, Founder, Frasia Wright Associates

The 2022 Categories

Company Wide Awards
• Firm of the Year
• Excellence in Client Care
• Community Contribution Award
• Legal Technology Award

Team Awards
• Litigation Team of the Year
• Real Estate Team of the Year
• Residential Property Team of the Year
• Commercial In-House Legal Team of the Year
• Public Sector In-House Legal Team of the Year
• Criminal Defence Team of the Year
• Support Team of the Year
• Private Client or Family Law Team of the Year
• Support Team of the Year
• Employment Law Team of the Year

Individual Awards
• Lifetime Achievement Award
• Chairman or Managing Partner of the Year
• Lawyer of the Year
• In-House Lawyer of the Year
• Paralegal of the Year
• Rising Star of the Year

The awards continue to raise funds for two nominated charities; LawScot Foundation, which supports students in pursuing a career in law and It’s Good 2 Give, which supports young cancer patients and their families in Scotland. 

All the winners in this year’s awards will be revealed at the Scottish Legal Awards annual dinner, hosted by Des Clarke which takes place on Thursday 22 September 2022 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Glasgow.

For full details visit www.scottishlegalawards.co.uk.

Further information: Kirsten Speirs KDMedia kirsten@kdmedia.co.uk.